New Chair of Sentencing Advisory Council Announced

Date of Publication
26 October 2022

The Attorney-General has announced that Professor Marilyn McMahon will be Chair of the Sentencing Advisory Council for the next 12 months.

Professor McMahon is a criminal law expert and a registered psychologist, and is currently deputy dean of Deakin Law School. She has published prolifically on topics related to criminal law and psychology, has consulted for various governments on criminal justice issues, and has appeared frequently in the media as a commentator on the criminal justice system.

Upon the announcement, outgoing Council Chair Emeritus Professor Arie Freiberg AM remarked that ‘it gives me great comfort to be handing over the reins to Professor McMahon, who is renowned for her expertise in criminal law as well as her rigorous research skills’.

Incoming Council Chair Professor Marilyn McMahon paid tribute to Professor Freiberg and his leadership of the Council, saying:

There are few institutions in Australia that have developed as keen a reputation for evidence-based research as the Sentencing Advisory Council. That reputation is owed largely to the quality of its staff over the years, the diverse and significant experiences of its board of directors, and to the leadership of Professor Freiberg.

It is an honour to be appointed Chair. I’m excited to continue the Council’s tradition of original and practical sentencing research, and its commitment to educating the general community about the complexities of sentencing.

The announcement, Interim Chair Appointed to Sentencing Advisory Council, is published on the Premier’s website.